Dierks Bentley Home Album Review

After Listening To Dierks Bentley’s Home, I Want To Go Exactly There!

Dierks Bentley’s previous album, Up On The Ridge, was such a breath of fresh air! I really enjoyed the bluegrass compilation and loved the fact that Bentley did what HE wanted to do. But…the first time I heard “Am I The Only One,” I was immediately rushed to years back when I first discovered the curly headed guy on my TV singing “How Am I Doin’?” At that moment I knew we were going to get an awesome album from him very soon.

I was right! The second single and title track, “Home,” was released and was on the opposite side of the tracks from “Am I The Only One,” but they were both going in the same direction!

The best way I can describe this album as a whole is probably something like this…I see myself with a few of my favorite people, on a cool afternoon, sitting around a fire, with a cup in my hand, not talking, but having the best time ever. It just makes me happy!

I don’t know about everyone else, but I don’t have to be jumping up and down raging to a song just because it is fast paced. Don’t get me wrong, I do that too, but it is also nice to sit back, listen, appreciate and smile!

It is hard for me to pick a favorite song from this album…number one because they are all pretty great and number two because I like them all for different reasons. “Gonna Die Young” is fun and makes me want to do something crazy, it kind of has the same effect “What Was I Thinkin’” had on me. “Tip It On Back” is very easy going and I can’t help but sing along.

The Woods” has a great beat to it, it is very descriptive and it takes me back. Everyone has that place that is almost sacred to them, it holds a lot of memories and no matter what happens you can always go back there!

When You Gonna Come Around,” featuring Karen Fairchild, is the type of song you wish was written about you (don’t lie, you have all thought it a time or two). “Thinking Of You” is just so sweet! I encourage you to listen to the entire song from start to finish. Yes, it is seven minutes, but I promise the end will have you grinning from ear to ear.

So there, I told you what I thought…it’s GOLD! I’d love to know what y’all think, so everyone should listen as soon as you get the chance!

Home Track Listing
1. Am I The Only One
2. Gonna Die Young
3. Tip It On Back
4. Home
5. Diamonds Make Babies
6. In My Head
7. Breathe You In
8. The Woods
9. When You Gonna Come Around (featuring Karen Fairchild)
10. 5-1-5-0
11. Heart Of A Lonely Girl
12. Thinking Of You

About HaleighT

HaleighT grew up in rural Sallisaw, Oklahoma, completely immersed in the country music lifestyle. She works with CMNB as our field assignment journalist, gathering concert reviews and exclusive interviews from every artist she can. When she's not out on the road, she's in our web studio filming "Takin' a Break With HaleighT" a short weekly opinion and news segment that launched in 2011.