ACM Awards 2012 Off-Camera Winners

ACM Announces 2012 Winners of Off-Camera Awards Categories.

The 2012 Academy of Country Music Awards are just a week away, and with host Reba McEntire and Blake Shelton and performances from the likes of Miranda Lambert, Jason Aldean, Kenny Chesney, Eric Church and many, many more (go here for a complete list), it looks like its going to be a heck of a show! But show organizers know that they’ve only got a limited amount of time, so they can’t possibly squeeze in all those performances and announce all the winners for all the possible categories…so, we have the “off-camera” winners.

These categories range from special honors that recognize life-time achievements and accomplishments in the country music industry to awards for best songwriter of the year! Some of the industry specific awards, like “casino of the year” and “venue of the year” are a little random, and unlikely to interest to average country music fan, so it makes sense that they can’t eat up air time handing out those trophies. But it is a shame that the “steel guitar player of the year” and “fiddle player of the year” don’t get a little TV face time…those are categories die-hard country fans definitely care about (especially over here at CMNB where HaleighT loves herself some fiddle!).

You can check out the complete list of off-camera categories and winners below, and if you haven’t yet, check out the 2012 ACM Awards nominees here.

2012 ACM Awards “Off-Camera” Winners, Complete List.

Special Honors:

Cliffie Stone Pioneer Award
Honors Pioneers in the Country Music Genre
Emmylou Harris
Billy Sherrill
Ricky Skaggs
Dwight Yoakam

Crystal Milestone Award
Honors Individuals Who Have Achieved Impressive Successes
Kenny Chesney

Career Achievement Award
Honors an individual artist, duo, group or multiple artist collaboration who advanced the popularity and acceptance of country music.
Vince Gill

Jim Reeves International Award
Honors an individual for outstanding contributions to the acceptance of country music throughout the world.
Alan Jackson

Mae Boren Axton Award
Recognizes years of dedication and service by an outstanding individual to the ACM.
Gayle Holcomb

Poet’s Award
Honors songwriters for outstanding musical and/or lyrical contributions throughout their career.
Bobby Braddock
Roger Miller

Industry Awards:

Songwriter of the Year
Dallas Davidson

Casino of the Year
Mandalay Bay Hotel & Casino – Las Vegas, NV

Don Romeo Talent Buyer of the Year
Jimmy Jay – Jayson Promotions, Inc.

Nightclub of the Year
Billy Bob’s Texas – Ft. Worth, TX

Promoter of the Year
Brian O’Connell – Live Nation

Venue of the Year
Bridgestone Arena – Nashville, TN

Musician, Band, Instrumental Awards:

Producer of the Year
Frank Liddell

Audio Engineer of the Year
Justin Niebank

Bass Player of the Year
Michael Rhodes

Percussionist/Drummer of the Year
Shannon Forrest

Guitarist of the Year
Kenny Greenberg

Fiddle Player of the Year
Stuart Duncan

Piano/Keyboard Player of the Year
John Hobbs

Specialty Instrument of the Year
Aubrey Haynie

Steel Guitar Player of the Year
Paul Franklin

About MissMolly

Miss Molly comes to us by way of Memphis, TN, but was born deep in the heart of Texas. Always the organized and efficient one, she's a taskmaster and film extraordinaire who still finds time to write on the side.

2 Replies to “ACM Awards 2012 Off-Camera Winners”

  1. Cliffie Stones lost in time last interview with Billy James.Hear Cliffie talk about a song he gave to Eddie Arnold, Ray Price, Ernie Ford to record, &County Music Taboo song Who's Rockin The Cradle and how it is not putting down Woman, plus Dancing in The Arms of a Memory he Co wrote.Listen to him explain what a person really has happen in their head when they first hear a song.

  2. Pingback: 2012 ACM Awards Winners | Country Music News Blog