2023 CMA Award Winners

(Winners will be italicized in each category below – this list is not in order of the presentation – We will update this list as awards are given. Please refresh the page for updates)

Early CMA Winners Announced Ahead of Broadcast

Entertainer of the year

Luke Combs

Chris Stapleton

Carrie Underwood

Morgan Wallen

Lainey Wilson WINNER

Single of the year

“Fast Car” – Luke Combs (Producers: Luke Combs, Chip Matthews, Jonathan Singleton, Mix Engineer: Chip Matthews) WINNER

“Heart Like A Truck” – Lainey Wilson (Producer: Jay Joyce, Mix Engineers: Jason Hall, Jay Joyce)

“Need A Favor” – Jelly Roll (Producer: Austin Nivarel, Mix Engineer: Jeff Braun)

“Next Thing You Know” – Jordan Davis (Producer: Paul DiGiovanni, Mix Engineer: Jim Cooley)

“wait in the truck” – HARDY (feat. Lainey Wilson) (Producers: HARDY, Joey Moi, Jordan Schmidt, Derek Wells, Mix Engineer: Joey Moi)

Album of the year

“Ashley McBryde Presents: Lindeville” — Ashley McBryde

“Bell Bottom Country” — Lainey Wilson WINNER

“Gettin’ Old” — Luke Combs

“One Thing At A Time” — Morgan Wallen

“Rolling Up the Welcome Mat” — Kelsea Ballerini

Song of the year

“Fast Car” — Songwriter: Tracy Chapman WINNER

“Heart Like A Truck” — Songwriters: Trannie Anderson, Dallas Wilson, Lainey Wilson

“Next Thing You Know” — Songwriters: Jordan Davis, Greylan James, Chase McGill, Josh Osborne

“Tennessee Orange” — Songwriters: David Fanning, Paul Jenkins, Megan Moroney, Ben Williams

“wait in the truck” — Songwriters: Renee Blair, Michael Hardy, Hunter Phelps, Jordan Schmidt

Female vocalist of the year

Kelsea Ballerini

Miranda Lambert

Ashley McBryde

Carly Pearce

Lainey Wilson WINNER

Male vocalist of the year

Luke Combs

Jelly Roll

Cody Johnson

Chris Stapleton WINNER

Morgan Wallen

Vocal group of the year

Lady A

Little Big Town


Old Dominion WINNER

Zac Brown Band

Vocal duo of the year

Brooks & Dunn

Brothers Osborne WINNER

Dan + Shay

Maddie & Tae

The War And Treaty

Musical event of the year

“Save Me” — Jelly Roll (with Lainey Wilson) (Producers: Zach Crowell, David Ray Stevens)

“She Had Me At Heads Carolina (Remix)” — Cole Swindell & Jo Dee Messina (Producer: Zach Crowell)

“Thank God” — Kane Brown (with Katelyn Brown) (Producer: Dann Huff)

“wait in the truck” — HARDY (feat. Lainey Wilson) (Producers: HARDY, Joey Moi, Jordan Schmidt, Derek Wells) WINNER

“We Don’t Fight Anymore” — Carly Pearce (featuring Chris Stapleton) (Producers: Shane McAnally, Josh Osborne, Carly Pearce)

Musician of the year

Jenee Fleenor WINNER

Paul Franklin

Rob McNelley

Derek Wells

Charlie Worsham

Music video of the year

“Light On In The Kitchen” — Ashley McBryde (Director: Reid Long)

“Memory Lane” — Old Dominion (Directors: Mason Allen, Nicki Fletcher)

“Need A Favor” — Jelly Roll (Director: Patrick Tohill)

“Next Thing You Know” — Jordan Davis (Director: Running Bear)

“wait in the truck” — HARDY (feat. Lainey Wilson) (Director: Justin Clough) WINNER

New artist of the year

Zach Bryan

Jelly Roll WINNER

Parker McCollum

Megan Moroney

Hailey Whitters

About Shauna "WhiskeyChick" Castorena

Shauna "WhiskeyChick" Castorena is a freelance writer for both Country Music News and Country Music On Tour. Want to collab on some content? Email me. Want my rates for commercial promo work outside of music? Get them right here.

One Reply to “2023 CMA Award Winners”

  1. Pingback: 2023 CMA Award Winners