Colt Ford Declaration Of Independence Album Review

Colt Ford’s Latest Collection Of Country Songs With A Twist!

Colt Ford has been very excited to release his latest album, Declaration of Independence, for some time. He personally told me how proud of this project he is and now it is out for all of his fans to enjoy! (Check out Colt’s interview with CMNB now!)

This album has 15 tracks and some of the greatest voices in country music lent their talents and time to their good friend Colt. Jason Aldean, Jake Owen, Kix Brooks and Darius Rucker, along with Laura Bell Bundy (the only female on the album) are just a small portion.

Back,” Colt’s current single with Owen, is already hitting home with country fans all over. The true story and music video (watch it now!), featuring Colt’s real family, is so visually telling and honest, that you have to thank the successful song-writer for inviting us into his life.

Answer To No One” is the first track and sets the tone for the album. Colt puts it out there for everyone to see, he is what he is and it’s not changing anytime soon!

All In” is a good one to play before a good night with friends! Whether you’re going out or having a party at the house, this song is sure to get you pumped up for a rowdy time! “Way Too Early” is another of my favorites on this album. The lyrics are very relatable and it has a pretty fiddle part!

Colt goes solo in “50/50” and defends his country roots and clears up any stereotypes the “city boys” might have about folks like him.

Colt might have a lot of people saying he isn’t “country” because the style in which he offers his music to the world. Well…I’m here to tell you just because he isn’t belting a ballad like John Michael Montgomery, who coincidentally has a song with Colt (“Ride Through the Country“), doesn’t mean he isn’t “country.” Listen to the man’s lyrics and you will be singing a different tune!

“This is for everybody out there,
Circling the town square,
Proud to be stuck out in the middle of nowhere.
USA, Chevrolet, Dodge and Ford.
Raising a little hell and praising the Lord”
-Drivin’ Around Song

If y’all like what I had to say and are interested in your very own copy of Declaration of Independence, then go pick one up at the store or iTunes OR follow this link RIGHT HERE for you chance to win one!

Declaration of Independence Track Listing


1. Answer To No One – F/ JJ Lawhorn
2. Drivin’ Around Song – F/ Jason Aldean
3. All In – F/ Kix Brooks
4. Ain’t Out Of The Woods – F/ Montgomery Gentry
5. Lucky – F/ Jonathan Singleton
6. Back – With Jake Owen
7. Dancin’ While Intoxicated (DWI) – F/Locash Cowboys and Redneck Social Club
8. It’s All – F/ Jeffrey Steele
9. Hugh Damn Right – F/ Laura Bell Bundy
10. Room At The Bar – F/ Corey Smith
11. All Of My Tomorrows – F/ Russell Dickerson
12. Happy In Hell – F/ Wanya Morris Of Boyz II Men
13. 50/50
14. Way Too Early – F/ Darius Rucker
15. Angels & Demuns – F/ Lamar Williams Jr.

About HaleighT

HaleighT grew up in rural Sallisaw, Oklahoma, completely immersed in the country music lifestyle. She works with CMNB as our field assignment journalist, gathering concert reviews and exclusive interviews from every artist she can. When she's not out on the road, she's in our web studio filming "Takin' a Break With HaleighT" a short weekly opinion and news segment that launched in 2011.