George Strait – Twang

George Strait is showin’ off his Twang!

George Strait is already seeing the fan’s reaction to his upcoming album “Twang” as the hit single “Living for the night” steadily climbs the Billboard Country charts. Now see what he has to say about the making of the album , and about including songs that he helped to pen!

Twang is George’s 38th album, and pure proof that he is solid, timeless, and truly a country music legend. “Living For The Night” marks the first time Strait has penned a song he has recorded since “I Can’t See Texas From Here” from his second album Strait From The Heart. Strait co-wrote two additional songs on TWANG – “He’s Got That Something Special” and “Out Of Sight Out Of Mind.” Bubba Strait is the sole writer on “Arkansas Dave.”Track Listing for TWANG:
1. Twang – Jim Lauderdale, Kendell Marvel and Jimmy Ritchey
2. Where Have I Been All My Life – Sherrie Austin, Will Nance and Steve Williams
3. I Gotta Get To You – Jim Lauderdale, Jimmy Ritchey and Blaine Larsen
4. Easy As You Go – Steve Bogard and Rick Giles
5. Living For The Night – George Strait, Bubba Strait and Dean Dillon
6. Same Kind Of Crazy – Delbert McClinton and Gary Nicholson
7. Out Of Sight Out Of Mind – George Strait and Bubba Strait
8. Arkansas Dave – Bubba Strait
9. The Breath You Take – Dean Dillon, Jessie Jo Dillon and Casey Beathard
10. He’s Got That Something Special – George Strait, Bubba Strait and Dean Dillon
11. Hot Grease And Zydeco – Gordon Bradberry and Tony Ramey
12. Beautiful Day For Goodbye – Doug Johnson and Pat Bunch
13. El Rey – Jose Alfredo Jimenez

Overall the album packs quite a bit of classic Strait crooning, but then surprises you with songs like El Ray, sung entirely in spanish, and the title track “Twang” which is a true party song. Not to mention “Hot Grease and Zydeco”, which by the way, Zydeco is an evolved/ sidebranch of Louisianna French Creole blues, that makes you want to just get up and swing around the dance floor. In my opinion, this entire album will only add to the country troubadour’s long long record of well… hit records :-)Country Music Photo Gallery

About Shauna "WhiskeyChick" Castorena

Shauna "WhiskeyChick" Castorena is a freelance writer for both Country Music News and Country Music On Tour. Want to collab on some content? Email me. Want my rates for commercial promo work outside of music? Get them right here.