Turnpike Troubadour Goodbye Normal Street Album Review

Turnpike Troubadour’s Goodbye Normal Street Keeps You Wanting More.

Goodbye Normal Street is the Turnpike Troubadours third studio album. The band has been getting a lot of attention the past few years, winning awards and being exposed to fans simply by word of mouth. They have a sound like no other and it is definitely working for them. All eleven songs on this album were written by one or more members of the band.

This record has a very honest, edgy, sound that is provided by some very talented musicians. I normally save this line for the end (only when I truly agree with it), but if you haven’t already I suggest you go and buy this album!

I have to say that every song in this grouping makes me either want to dance or sit up late drinking. Take that as you may…

Gin, Smoke, Lies” is the band’s current single and has a bit of a dark, you-can’t-get-things-past-me feeling to it. It’s no B.S. and I dig it! I would say “Wrecked” is currently my favorite song on the album, with “Quit While I’m Ahead” coming in at a close second!

Call A Spade A Spade” has one of the best lines in a song that I have heard in a long time “everything’s so easy, up until its complicated.” This song, in my opinion has a classic, honky-tonk vibe to it.

Songs like “Blue Star” and “Good Lord Lorrie” leave me wanting to know the back-story to them, I feel like they are good ones.

I think this album can easily relate to many generations and here’s why…One day my grandma was in the car with me when “Empty As A Drum” came on my playlist. The first line was said and she gave me a look and said “what is this?” with a not-so-happy look on her face. By the end of the song she was slightly swaying and said “it has a good beat.” Now if you knew her you would know that is a huge compliment.

So as I said before, go get this album! It gets an A+ from me and my lovely grandma!

Goodbye Normal Street Track Listing
1. Gin Smoke & Lies – Even Felker
2. Before The Devil Knows We’re Dead – Felker, RC Edwards
3. Southeastern Son – Felker
4. Blue Star – Felker
5. Call A Spade A Spade – Felker, Jamie Wilson
6. Morgan Street – Edwards
7. Gone, Gone, Gone – Felker
8. Good Lord Lorrie – Felker
9. Empty As A Drum – Felker
10. Wrecked – Felker, Edwards
11. Quite While I’m Ahead – Felker

About HaleighT

HaleighT grew up in rural Sallisaw, Oklahoma, completely immersed in the country music lifestyle. She works with CMNB as our field assignment journalist, gathering concert reviews and exclusive interviews from every artist she can. When she's not out on the road, she's in our web studio filming "Takin' a Break With HaleighT" a short weekly opinion and news segment that launched in 2011.

One Reply to “Turnpike Troubadour Goodbye Normal Street Album Review”

  1. Pingback: Turnpike Troubadours Gin, Smoke, Lies Video | Country Music News Blog - Country Music News, Artists and Tour Info