2023 “CMT Music Awards” reveal top 6 “Video of the Year” finalists

CMT today revealed the top 6 finalists vying for the night’s most-coveted “Video of Year” award at the 2023 CMT MUSIC AWARDS, with fan voting now open at vote.cmt.com.

Everything You Need To Know About the 2023 CMT Music Awards

The final six “Video of the Year” nominees are:
Blake Shelton – “No Body”
Carrie Underwood – “Hate My Heart”
Cody Johnson – “Human”
HARDY feat. Lainey Wilson – “wait in the truck”
Kane Brown & Katelyn Brown – “Thank God”
Morgan Wallen – “You Proof”

Over the past three weeks, fans have cast their votes across all categories, including “Video of the Year,” narrowing down to the top six finalists from the original list of 16 nominees. On the morning of Sunday, April 2nd, these six will be narrowed down to top three, with voting continuing through the live show, leading up to the big reveal at the end of the night.

This year’s Top 6 sees Carrie Underwood competing for her fifth consecutive “Video of the Year” win and tenth overall in the category, as she remains the most awarded artist in CMT Music Awards history with 25 career wins.

Should Kane Brown and Katelyn Brown win, they would make history as the first husband and wife duo to win the coveted award. This would also be the first win for each of them in the category.

A win for Blake Shelton would mark his second time winning “Video of the Year,” with the first earned in 2018, and a win by Cody Johnson, HARDY, Lainey Wilson or Morgan Wallen would be their first win in the category.

Previously announced 2023 CMT MUSIC AWARDS news:

HOSTS: Kane Brown + Kelsea Ballerini
PERFORMERS: Blake Shelton, Carly Pearce, Carrie Underwood, Cody Johnson, Jelly Roll, Kane Brown + Katelyn Brown, Keith Urban, Kelsea Balerini, Lainey Wilson, The Black Crowes + Darius Rucker, Tyler Hubbard, and Wynonna Judd + Ashley McBryde (more info). Avery Anna, Chapel Hart, Jackson Dean, Lily Rose, Megan Moroney and Nate Smith perform from the Ram Trucks Side Stage (more info).
NOMINATIONS: Lainey Wilson (4x) leads; Cody Johnson, co-host Kane Brown and first time nominee Jelly Roll (3x) follow (full list).
VOTING: General voting is now closed. Voting for the highly-coveted “Video of the Year” category remains active through the show at vote.cmt.com.
CMT AWARDS WEEK EVENTS: CMTMA Week lead-up events in downtown Austin begin March 29th.
CMT MUSIC AWARDS EXTENDED CUT: Premieres Thursday, April 6th (8:00-11:30 PM ET/PT) on CMT featuring 30 extra minutes of new performances and bonus content.
TICKETS: Available via Ticketmaster here.
SPONSORS: Official sponsors of the 2023 CMT MUSIC AWARDS include Ram Truck Brand and Solitaire Grand Harvest.
CREDITS: Margaret Comeaux (CMT), John Hamlin (Switched On Entertainment), Leslie Fram (CMT) and Jason Owen (Sandbox Entertainment) are Executive Producers.
SOCIALS: Use hashtag #CMTAwards and follow @CMT on Facebook, Instagram, Twitter, YouTube and Tik Tok.

About Shauna "WhiskeyChick" Castorena

Shauna "WhiskeyChick" Castorena is a freelance writer for both Country Music News and Country Music On Tour. Want to collab on some content? Email me. Want my rates for commercial promo work? Get them right here.