Carly Pearce Earns Fourth No. 1 With “What He Didn’t Do”

Fresh off her historic GRAMMY® Award win, reigning ACM AwardsFemale Artist of the YearCarly Pearce has earned her fourth career No. 1 at Country radio with “What He Didn’t Do” (Big Machine Records) as the song officially reigns atop the Country Aircheck/Mediabase chart.

The gold-certified hit has amassed over 235 million streams to date while its official music video is currently nominated for CMT Female Video of the Year. The 10x CMT Music Awards nominee is also up for Performance of the Year and will perform at the live show on Sunday, April 2 which will air on CBS and stream on Paramount+ at 8/7c.

Of the achievement Pearce said, “I wrote ‘What He Didn’t Do’ at a time when I needed to be reminded of my worth and that I deserved better. I knew it was special from the moment we wrote it. It is a song about hope, reminding yourself what you deserve moving forward. Out of all of my singles, this one I am most proud of. I am thankful that country radio wrapped their arms around it to allow fans to hear the message.”

Pearce is also celebrating the release of her latest album 29: Written In Stone (Live From Music City) (released March 24 via Big Machine Records) which marks Pearce’s first live album and closes the chapter on her pivotal 29 journey. Produced by Pearce alongside David Clauss, 29: Written In Stone (Live From Music City) is a live retelling of her critically-acclaimed and commercially-lauded album 29, recorded during an intimate concert event at Marathon Music Works in Nashville and featuring appearances from special guests Ashley McBryde (“Never Wanted To Be That Girl”), Lee Brice (“I Hope You’re Happy Now”), The Isaacs (“Easy Going”), Matthew West (“Truth Be Told”), and Jenee Fleenor (“29”). Previously released tracks from the upcoming album include “What He Didn’t Do (Live From Music City)” and “Never Wanted To Be That Girl (Live From Music City).

“I grew up listening to live records dreaming of the day I would have one of my own,” said Pearce. “29: Written In Stone changed my life in many ways, and after hearing the reaction of the crowd every night on the 29 Tour, I knew I wanted it to live on forever. This release marks the end of this chapter, which was so beautiful and unexpected, and I am excited for people to hear what I have been working so hard on.”

Leading into awards weekend, the 2022 CMT Artist of the Year will kick off CMT’s all-new series of specials with “CMT Defining: Carly Pearce” airing March 30 at 10/9c where she will give fans a one-of-a-kind look back at her career and the milestones that shaped it. The special also includes performances from the intimate concert event at Marathon Music Works in Nashville as heard throughout her 29: Written In Stone (Live From Music City) album, available now.

2023 is set to be another big year for Pearce who, in addition to the above, just completed an 18-show run as special guest on Blake Shelton’s Back To The Honky Tonk Tour. The Grand Ole Opry member will also return to the Opry stage on April 11 for her landmark 100th performance since making her 2015 debut. To mark the momentous occasion, she and Opry Entertainment launched a personally-curated merchandise line exclusively available on Opry Entertainment websites ( and and in Opry Entertainment retail stores in Nashville, TN. To view the collection, visit
Tickets to Pearce’s 100th Opry performance (4/11), as well as upcoming shows at the iHeartCountry Festival on May 13, CMA Fest on June 8 where she will play the Nissan Stadium main stage, and all additional dates, are available at
1. “Diamondback (Live From Music City)”
2. “What He Didn’t Do (Live From Music City)”
3. “Easy Going (Live From Music City)”
4. “Dear Miss Loretta (Live From Music City)”
5. “Next Girl (Live From Music City)”
6. “Should’ve Known Better (Live From Music City)”
7. “29 (Live From Music City)”
8. “Never Wanted To Be That Girl (Live From Music City)” – Carly Pearce and Ashley McBryde
9. “Your Drinkin’, My Problem (Live From Music City)”
10. “Liability (Live From Music City)”
11. “Messy (Live From Music City)”
12. “Show Me Around (Live From Music City)”
13. “Day One (Live From Music City)”
14. “All The Whiskey In The World (Live From Music City)”
15. “Mean It This Time (Live From Music City)”
16. “Truth Be Told (Live From Music City)” – Carly Pearce and Matthew West
17. “Every Little Thing (Live From Music City)”
18. “Hide The Wine (Live From Music City)”
19. “I Hope You’re Happy Now (Live From Music City)” – Carly Pearce and Lee Brice

About Shauna "WhiskeyChick" Castorena

Shauna "WhiskeyChick" Castorena is a freelance writer for both Country Music News and Country Music On Tour. Want to collab on some content? Email me. Want my rates for commercial promo work? Get them right here.