New Album From Buddy Jewell To Release June 26th!

Buddy Jewell To Release 

Bluebonnet Highway Album 

15 Songs To Hit June 26, 2020Preview the New Album HERE

Buddy Jewell has set June 26, 2020 as the release for his most ambitious album to date, the 15-song Bluebonnet Highway on Diamond Dust Records.The collection spans Country, Americana and Bluegrass and includes several originals, re-records of Buddy’s hits and covers of some of his favorite and most influential songs.

“I had so much fun making this record,” said Buddy. “My producer Mitchell Brown and friend Ernie Evans approached me with the idea of doing this project and were very instrumental in helping me pick the songs. I owe most of this mess or success to those two guys!”

The new album pays homage to Buddy’s heroes and influences like Waylon Jennings, Ed Bruce, The Band, Tom T. Hall, Buck Owens and Billy Joe Shaver. Originals include the Jewell-written “Bluebonnet Highway” and the hilarious “Willie Gave Up Weed.” He co-wrote “Hillbilly Water” with Steve Williams and Thom Shepherd and recorded more earthy takes of his Top 5 hits “Sweet Southern Comfort” and “Help Pour out the Rain (Lacey’s Song)” for the new album.

The first single from Bluebonnet Highway will be the heart-tugging “Teardrop in the Gulf of Mexico,” which Buddy wrote with Jerry Salley. The single is already #2 on the Airplay Direct Global Radio Indicator Chart.

The CD includes a cast of well-known Bluegrass and Country musicians and singers such as Kenny & Amanda Smith, Michael Cleveland (Flamekeepers), Danny Roberts (Grascals), IBMA Dobro Player of the Year Josh Swift (The Issacs), Donnie Allen (Shenandoah), Craig Fletcher (Joe Diffie, Lorrie Morgan), Ernie Evans (EMS Productions) and Mitchell Brown, long time producer for Grand Ole Opry member and Country Music Hall of Fame inductee Charlie Louvin. 

Most of the songs on the album were tracked prior to the Covid-19 lockdown, but Buddy wasn’t able to begin recording vocals until last month. Having the finished product to listen to and hold in his own hands was an incredible release for him emotionally and spiritually. “It’s like getting to take that first big breath of fresh air after you been waiting to exhale for so long.”

“Getting to release Bluebonnet Highway has felt like breaking out of a dark, dreary dungeon into bright, beautiful sunlight. The catharsis has been amazing. If I could choose one thing for people to feel when they listen to it, I would want them to feel the joy that I felt during the entire process and the freedom of getting to make this project.”

 Bluebonnet Highway

Diamond Dust Records

Track Listing:

1.  “I’m A Ramblin’ Man”

2.  “Help Pour Out The Rain (Lacey’s Song)”

3.  “Teardrop in the Gulf of Mexico”

4.  “The Night They Drove Old Dixie Down”

5.  “Truck Driving Man”

6.  “Hero In Harlan”

7.  “Georgia On A Fast Train”

8.  “Sweet Southern Comfort”

9.  “Bluebonnet Highway”

10. “Willie Gave Up Weed”

11. “My First Taste of Texas”

12. “Life Don’t Have To Mean Nothing At All”

13. “Hillbilly Water”

14. “You’re The Best Break This Old Heart Ever Had”

15. “Can’t Stop Now”

About Buddy Jewell:

America chose Buddy Jewell as the very first winner of the USA Network’s hit reality show “Nashville Star.” Buddy was the viewer favorite from the very beginning, capturing 65% of the nationwide voting and beating out 11 other contestants, most notably, Miranda Lambert, by over two million votes on the final episode. He and America have been involved in a love affair ever since.

His self-titled Columbia Records debut release landed at #1 on the Billboard Top Country Album charts, was certified GOLD later that same year and garnered two back-to-back top five hits with “Sweet Southern Comfort” and “Help Pour Out the Rain (Lacey’s Song).” Both tunes are RIAA certified one million radio air plays.

Buddy has been recognized by the GRAMMYs, ACM, CMA, ABC Radio Networks, ICMA, ICGMA and CMT with multiple awards and nominations. In 2011, he won the International Country Gospel Music Association’s “Entertainer of the Year” and “Crossover Artist of the Year” awards. In 2015, he was inducted into the Arkansas Entertainer’s Hall of Fame. In 2018, his #1 Christian Country hit, “I’m There,” won the ICMA “Song of the Year” and Buddy won ICMA “Male Vocalist of the Year” in April of 2019.

His talents as a songwriter have garnered him an ICMA #1 for “When Mama Prayed.” Buddy’s touching ode to this father, “When I’m Good and Gone,” received Grammy consideration for Ricky Skaggs and Sharon White, and in May 2019, Buddy’s song, “One in a Row,” co-written with Thom McHugh, was released by Randy Travis as his first new song in over six years. His recent release, “Willie Gave Up Weed,” will put a smile on your face…legally!

Buddy Jewell gives back to his community and beyond on many levels, serving as past spokesperson for The Minnie Pearl Cancer Foundation and Compassion International. He ministers to inmates at nearby facilities on a regular basis as well. Buddy especially has a heart for children and actively supports several worthy causes including St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital. 

Buddy has served our nation throughout his career, supporting and entertaining our troops at home and abroad. He traveled with Sergeant Major Kenneth O. Preston on an extensive USO tour to remote forward operating bases on the front lines in Iraq, Kuwait and Afghanistan. Buddy Jewell is a proud American patriot, a devoted father and husband, and an outspoken follower of Jesus Christ.

Contact and Booking Information


About Shauna "WhiskeyChick" Castorena

Shauna "WhiskeyChick" Castorena is a freelance writer for both Country Music News and Country Music On Tour. Want to collab on some content? Email me. Want my rates for commercial promo work? Get them right here.