Sturgill Simpson’s A Sailor’s Guide To Earth is nominated for “Album of the Year” at the 59th Annual Grammy Awards. The acclaimed album is also up for “Best Country Album.” The awards show will be broadcast live on CBS from L.A.’s Staples Center on Sunday, February 12 at 8/7c.

Sturgill Simpson on Country Music News Blog

Out now on Atlantic Records (purchase here), A Sailor’s Guide To Earth sold 55,000 units in its first week (with over 52,000 in pure albums sales) debuting at #1 on the Billboard Country Albums chart, #1 on the Billboard Current Albums chart, #1 on Billboard Current Digital Albums chart and #3 on the overall Billboard 200 chart. A Sailor’s Guide To Earth also debuted at #1 on the Billboard Vinyl Albums chart with over 9,400 copies sold.

Additionally, the album continues to receive overwhelming critical acclaim with recent “Best of 2016” coverage running at NPR Music, Rolling Stone, Stereogum, Paste, American Songwriter among many others.

Praise for A Sailor’s Guide To Earth

“…defies categorization, and exceeds expectations…”—Associated Press

“It’s hard to believe any other record this year will raise as many eyebrows, invite as many questions, or be as instantly beloved.”—Esquire Magazine

“…one of the year’s most impressive albums…”—Los Angeles Times

“There’s no real genre category for it, and that’s a good thing. It tries out plenty of different ideas, succeeds at all of them, and presents all of them as a cohesive whole. It’s a total triumph of an album, and it’s also an absolutely singular force.”—Stereogum

Sailor’s Guide is rowdier, more emotionally insular and also far more musically surprising, an album of raw country cut with rich and messy Southern soul and sleek orchestral bombast.”—The New York Times

A Sailor’s Guide to Earth represents a startling change in tone and presents a wealth of rewards for every creative risk.”—Pitchfork

“…a spectacular mic drop of a third LP.”—Rolling Stone

“Simpson, to the uninitiated, is just about the best county music has to offer, which is more important in these post-Merle days.”—The Washington Post

Simpson and his band recently wrapped an extensive sold-out national tour in support of the album. Of the recent show at Nashville’s historic Ryman Auditorium, the Nashville Scene praises, “…Simpson’s performance was a statement: He was there to put in work, and put in work he did,” and went on to assert his, “…raw talent and a mastery of dynamics.” Additionally, over the past eight months, Simpson has performed on “The Late Show with Stephen Colbert,” “The Daily Show with Trevor Noah,” “Conan,” “The Tonight Show Starring Jimmy Fallon,” “Late Night with Seth Meyers” and, most recently, “Charlie Rose.”

Produced by Simpson, A Sailor’s Guide To Earth was written—beginning to end—as a letter to his first child, who arrived during the summer of 2014.

Recorded primarily at Nashville’s The Butcher Shoppe, Simpson was joined in the studio by Grammy Award-winning engineer David Ferguson (Johnny Cash, John Prine, “Cowboy” Jack Clement) and assistant engineer Sean Sullivan. Along with members of his touring band, the album features Dave Roe on bass, Dan Dugmore on steel guitar, Dougie Wilkinson on bagpipes, Yellin and Arthur Cook on cello, Dinklage and LaGrange on violin and special guests The Dap-Kings.

A Sailor’s Guide To Earth is Simpson’s third full-length album and follows his breakthrough, Grammy-nominated 2014 release, Metamodern Sounds In Country Music. Beloved by critics and fans, the record was featured on year-end “best of” lists from The New York Times, Rolling Stone, the Village Voices’ Pazz and Jop, Rolling Stone Country, NPR Music, American Songwriter, Stereogum, the Los Angeles Times, KCRW, Pitchfork, The Washington Post and many others.


1. Welcome to Earth (Pollywog)

2. Breakers Roar

3. Keep It Between The Lines

4. Sea Stories

5. In Bloom

6. Brace For Impact (Live A Little)

7. All Around You

8. Oh Sarah

9. Call To Arms


Find the most current Sturgil Simpson tour dates from our partners at Country Music On Tour, your trusted country concert ticket source!

Comments are closed.