Alan Jackson, Jerry, Reed, Don Schlitz Announced As Country Music Hall Of Fame Class Of 2017

The COUNTRY MUSIC HALL OF FAME (CMHOF) revealed its class of 2017 inductees TODAY (4/5) in three categories. JERRY REED in the Veteran Era category, ALAN JACKSON enters in the Modern Era category, and DON SCHLITZ in the Songwriter category. VINCE GILL, a 2007 CMHOF inductee, was on hand to announce 2017 honorees, the 57th group of Country legends to join the MUSEUM’s famous rotunda. The COUNTRY MUSIC HALL OF FAME was created in 1961 by the COUNTRY MUSIC ASSOCIATION (CMA).

Candidates are considered eligible for induction to the COUNTRY MUSIC HALL OF FAME into the Modern Era category 20 years after they first achieve National prominence and into the Veteran Era category 40 years after they first achieve National prominence. The Songwriter category is awarded every third year in rotation with the Recording and/or Touring Musician Active Prior to 1980, and Non-Performer categories. Class of 2017 inductees will be officially inducted during the traditional invitation-only medallion ceremony later this YEAR.

“Each of this YEAR’s inductees are well versed performers and songwriters and have helped define Country music and popular culture,” said CMA CEO SARAH TRAHERN. Added CMHOF CEO KYLE YOUNG, “These three storytellers have added much to our lives, and to the story of Country music. They stand as models of undeniable eloquence and empathy. Over many decades, they have brought laughter, joy, and tears to millions. The HALL OF FAME ROTUNDA will be grander for the presence of ALAN JACKSON, JERRY REED, and DON SCHLITZ.” Learn more about the inductees and watch the entire Class Of 2017 announcement here.

About Shauna "WhiskeyChick" Castorena

Shauna "WhiskeyChick" Castorena is a freelance writer for both Country Music News and Country Music On Tour. Want to collab on some content? Email me. Want my rates for commercial promo work outside of music? Get them right here.